The Front Blog

Conversations from the Four Rivers Region

The Weekend Energy Preview 1/14

leave a comment »


Here’s what’s in the mix this week. It’s so indomitable, it’s like a catastrophic global event, obviously caused by climate change, that renders all the worlds lizards as super-intelligent creatures who will then engage in massive eugenic experiments leading to genetic discrimination in which the ‘valids’ enjoy professional employment, while the ‘in-valids’ are relegated to menial labor.

Don’t blame me, blame science.

Also, this was a great movie.

Highlights

Mustard Pimp – City Kids (feat. Dirtyphonics) – With a name like Mustard Pimp,  you know it’s going to be delicious and spicy. Weekend Energy listeners have been enjoying this team’s calorie free grunge for years. City Kids is a dirty city street full of uplifting cheer, complete with a whirring helicopter beat, and a touch of swag. I’ve been pushing it around my shortlist for a while, but this week’s mix is crazy enough to include it. It’s five songs into the mix, right when a song really needs to stand out. And it does, even if you can’t see it below all the smog. Also, check out their singles Catch Me, Money Shot, Oh La La Satan, and… most urgently… Cherry. Check out the video for City Kids from Dim Mak Records.

Panda Da Panda – Vem E Du (Boyfriend & Ophex Remix) – See this week’s “Discovery” below.

Jupiter – Sake – I had a sore throat recently and ordered a small jug of hot sake at a local restaurant. I was cured in a snap. Anyway, I’ve written about this song before, so let’s review: “Jupiter caught my attention from their beginning, with a remix of Salt Air by Chew Lips, followed by their own singles Starlighter and Vox Populi… Sake sounds like the drink: crisp, not too serious, a little sweet, a little cheap, and in large quantities will make your legs feel like squids… It’s fun and vibrant…  Nothing offensive here – except maybe the dancing in this video!” …And here’s the endlessly fun music video for Sake.

Avicii – Levels 2 (Scully & Wiseman Remix) – I swore I wasn’t going to play any dubstep when I made this mix this week. Then I heard this and a giant hawk pried open the roof of my apartment like an aluminum can and plucked me out of my desk chair. This is more than dubstep, this is more than Skrillex-inspired dubstep, this is a complete audio experience, chock full of nutritious builds, synths, bass, drums, and drops so sick it should be quarantined and then experimented on for chemical warfare. Don’t tell Iran about this song.


Discovery

Panda Da Panda

Okay, this song really annoyed me at first. I mean, the guy’s way too loud, with a screeching voice and he looks like a ridiculous skeleton stomping around in a closet. But after listening to it a few times, I found myself putting on skeleton face paint and singing along as loud as possible – even though I have no idea what he’s saying. Anyone speak Swedish? I am converted. I have become a skeleton panda and I can’t get enough of this song. I couldn’t be more excited to put a song into the mix as I am with this one. If you watch the video below, just wait until around 37 seconds and you’ll be totally hooked. The version in the show tonight takes that catchy beat and draws it out a bit, but blends it more with the vocals, giving in an all-around more moombahton vibe. I’m not sure which one I like better now. Also, check out Speciell, and if you’re feeling brave, check out Titta Nar Han Dansar.

Almost Made It

Hatiras, Will Bailey, Nom De Strip

I saw the title: “Swagnum P.I.” and was intrigued. I thought, “please be awesome.” And it is. This instrumental definitely pushes the envelope, taking you out of your head entirely with a sweet echo effect, then punting it back in its place with a swift, swag-infused kick. It’ll get in the mix soon enough. Check out a tiny sample.


Second Hour Rewind

The second hour rewind is the previous week’s first hour. In this mix, hear Martin Solveig, Dragonette, Daft Punk, We Kiss You, Skrillex, Knife Party, Trippple Nippples and more! While checking out some blogs, I came across some awesome Daft Punk remixes. In genre terms, Daft Punk is like ancient grandpa music. The beats are still good, but they’re a bit dusty (see Gramophonedzie). Anyway, in the mix is HLM’s remix of Harder Better Faster Stronger, and my favorite Schoolboy’s remix of Da Funk. I’ve always been a fan of Da Funk, it was like my personal anthem 15 years ago. Schoolboy transforms it into dubstep without destroying the basic beat. That’s the trick with Daft Punk remixes. The original songs are so impeccably mixed, with such killer beats, a good remix will complement it, not kill it. I’m often a fan of destroying the tracks, but I”ll make a concession for Daft Punk – this is the extent of my reverence.

A Little Extra

I just found this full of giggles:


“Crank up your stereo, bust out the strobe light and kick up the bass.”

Weekend Energy has been blowing out car stereo systems, upsetting the neighbors and enhancing the night life of western Kentucky every weekend since July 2007 on WKMS. Host Matt “McG” Markgraf pours through hundreds of songs each week to create “the loudest show on public radio” featuring the best techno, dance and electronica from around the world. Weekend Energy airs Saturdays on 91.3 WKMS from 11 p.m. to 1 a.m. Stream it live on wkms.org Saturday nights.

Hear the show streaming online or else.

Written by Matt Markgraf

January 14, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Leave a Reply

