The Front Blog

Conversations from the Four Rivers Region

Archive for October 28th, 2011

Good Read: Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

leave a comment »

Peter Pan
by J.M. Barrie

Buy this book on Amazon

(Your purchase supports WKMS!)

Product Description:

Peter Pan is the popular character created by Scottish novelist and playwright J. M. Barrie. A mischievous boy who can fly and magically refuses to grow up, Peter Pan spends his never-ending childhood adventuring on the small island of Neverland as the leader of his gang the Lost Boys, interacting with mermaids, Indians, fairies, pirates, and (from time to time) meeting ordinary children from the world outside. The most popular story, the most often reflected in movies, is “Peter Pan, or The Boy Who Wouldn’t Grow Up”/”Peter and Wendy”– Peter brings Wendy and her brothers to Never Land, where he has a climactic showdown with his nemesis, Captain Hook.

Kala Dunn says:

I started reading Peter Pan because I heard it was going to be a topic of discussion on the Diane Rehm Show.  I finished reading Peter Pan because I fell in love with the delicate and finely-woven world J.M. Barrie creates.  Often adult readers overlook the value of books classified as “children’s literature,” though in actuality Peter Pan is not a children’s book.  It’s a book about the nature of humankind, about a confrontation with mortality, about putting away our darker thoughts and finding illumination through our personal light.  The storyline is fantastic—flying children, vindictive alligators, and smart-mouthed fairies—but the meaning is true.  Witty and fun, bittersweet and beautiful, Peter Pan offers us a chance to explore a fairyland in which we will ultimately discover ourselves.

This “good read” was inspired by a recent conversation on The Diane Rehm Show.

Click here to check out more Good Reads.

Written by Matt Markgraf

October 28, 2011 at 1:37 pm

“Home On The Range (With My Prairie Home Companion)” – From the Rotary Club of Murray

leave a comment »

Many thanks to the Rotary Club of Murray for crafting this song for their October 27, 2011 meeting! Try singing-a-long and have fun!

HOME ON THE RANGE
(With My Prairie Home Companion)

Oh give me a home where Keil-lor will roam,
On the floor of the C-F-S-B.
Where we shall all see, a cast fill-ed with glee;
It’s live and it ain’t on TV.

Home, home his-to-ry.
A show we all should go see.
Mu-sic and sketch, lot’s of hu-mor to catch,
A once-in-your life place to be.

How of-ten we’ve heard, some en-cour-a-ging words;
From the sounds of Nin-ty One Point Three.
Now we can go-to view a live show,
And be in on Mur-ray his-to-ry.

Home, home on the range,
Where the cast and mu-si-cians will play.
No-vem-ber the fifth; this sure ain’t a myth.
Com-pan-ion is com-ing our way.
(Prairie Home, that is!)

Written by Matt Markgraf

October 28, 2011 at 11:18 am

Why I Am a “Dollar a Day” Contributor to WKMS – A Sad Tale of Procrastination and Remorse

leave a comment »

Here’s a wonderful story by a WKMS contributor from Fulton. Thank you so much Baker for sharing this story with us and for letting us share this story with listeners:

—-

Why I Am a “Dollar a Day” Contributor to WKMS – A Sad Tale of Procrastination and Remorse

Once upon a time – not so long ago – those of us in Northwest Tennessee and Southwest Kentucky had a fine NPR station. WKNO in Memphis had a 100,000 watt translator in Dyersburg which had a fine signal both in Union City, where I worked, and at my home in Fulton, KY. They had a news and talk format that was similar to what we hear on WKMS today and I loved the programing. I was a Member and I contributed a few dollars a month by automatic deduction from my checking account. I thought I was doing my part.

One morning when I switched on my radio as usual expecting to hear “Morning Addition”, I was shocked to discover that in the place of my favorite NPR station was a new Christian broadcasting station. This had happened with no fanfare. My favorite station was just GONE! I soon found out that, due to budget restraints, WKNO had been forced to sell the transmitter and the license at Dyersburg in order to raise cash!

I was hurt and I was resentful. I called that very day and canceled my membership. I couldn’t understand why they would take “my” station off the air without at least giving the listeners an opportunity to “step up to the plate” and save the station. I would have given more, if only they had asked!

It took me a while to come to the realization that they had been asking all along. Twice a year they had a pledge drive and I had noticed that they usually seemed to come up a little short. I guess I assumed that the big corporate sponsors would make up the shortfall. I could have done more, but the programing went on and I was happy and content– right up until that fateful morning when “my” station went off the air.

Now we have the new WKMT station at Fulton and I can again get my NPR fix, full strength, 24 hours a day! One thing is for sure, I will never again be complacent about my new NPR station. I signed up for a “dollar a day” membership to WKMS and if the current pledge drive seems to be coming up short, I will dig a little deeper. I don’t ever want to wake up again and find that NPR is gone from my radio dial!

Baker Thompson
Fulton, KY

Written by Matt Markgraf

October 28, 2011 at 10:11 am

Datebook: October 28 – Japan’s Largest Inland Earthquake 120 Years Ago

leave a comment »

The Mino-Owari Earthquake, also known as the Great Nobi Earthquake, was a large earthquake that struck the former provinces of Mino and Owari in the Nōbi Plain area during the Meiji period in Japan, on October 28, 1891. It is the largest known inland earthquake in Japan. Based on the scale of destruction, it has been estimated to have had a magnitude of 8.0 on the Richter Scale. It is also one of the largest earthquakes in the world’s history. When the fault line broke, the height difference between the two sides was approximately six meters.

It’s Friday, October 28th

The PennyRoyal Area Museum invites everyone to the retelling of The Bell Witch Story with County Historian William T. Turner Monday at 6 p.m. Admission is $2 for adults, $1 for children. Costumes are welcome. The Museum is at 217 East 9th Street in downtown Hopkinsville.

Tomorrow the Third Annual Zombie Walk in Paducah starts at 9th and Broadway at 5:30 p.m. Monetary donations benefit Paducah Renaissance Alliance and canned food donations go to the Family Service Society. Walkers dressed as zombies trudge along the sidewalks to Maiden Alley. People over 14 aren’t allowed to wear masks. At seven there’s a Walk After Party and Punk Rock Show at Maiden Alley.

The Marshall County Exceptional School benefits from the Companion Animal Hospital’s 2nd annual chili cook off tonight from 6 to 9 at the main pavilion at Mike Miller Park, Benton. The McKendrees perform live bluegrass.

What do you think? Have you a moment to click pledge now to support this public radio service online at wkms.org? Hope so. Thanks.

the morning cram [millionaires gotta eat too]

leave a comment »

New York Governor Cuomo thinks Millionaires need a break.

NPR reports the NY millionaire tax is set to expire, and most New Yorkers are not happy about it.

Kentucky~    Half of the Paducah Convention Center embezzlement gang pleads not guilty. Galbraith says he’s the man! The unemployment rate fell in September.

Tennessee~ A Fort Campbell soldier is being presented with the Silver Star posthumously. Town hall meetings are being held across the state to address the voter I.D. law.

Illinois~  Massac County is hard up for cash. Quinn wants to know who voted for absent lawmakers in a recent session.