The Front Blog

Conversations from the Four Rivers Region

Governor Beshear Requests Major Disaster Declaration from President

leave a comment »

Governor Beshear Requests Major Disaster Declaration from President

Governor Visits Storm-Damaged Areas in Western Kentucky

FRANKFORT, Ky. (April 28, 2011) – In the wake of severe weather and damaging floods throughout the Commonwealth, particularly in Western Kentucky, Gov. Steve Beshear today requested a major disaster declaration from President Barack Obama.  Gov. Beshear is requesting Individual Assistance, Disaster Unemployment Assistance, Crisis Counseling, Public Assistance, Hazard Mitigation and Small Business Administration disaster loans.

“My administration has worked hard to provide assistance to struggling communities around the state during these storms,” said Gov. Beshear.  “If this request is granted, we will receive financial assistance to help them repair and rebuild their communities.” 

Under a major disaster declaration, local governments, state agencies, small businesses, certain private non-profits (such as electrical cooperatives and water districts), individuals and households would be able to request financial assistance from the federal government to clean up, repair and replace property destroyed or damaged by the storm. 

Over the past week, severe thunderstorms, tornadoes and flash flooding have hit many areas of the Commonwealth, causing rising waters, infrastructure damage and dangerous roads.  In response to these storms, Gov. Beshear declared a state of emergency on April 25 to allow local officials immediate access to state resources to assist in public safety and recovery efforts.  In addition, he implemented an executive order to protect consumers from price gouging.

At the Governor’s request, there are currently 80 members of the Kentucky National Guard in communities across the Commonwealth who can provide help in a variety of ways, including sandbagging, removing debris, evacuation and traffic direction.

Currently, 48 counties and 17 cities have declared states of disaster.  Ballard, Bath, Boone, Bracken, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Calloway, Campbell, Carlisle, Carroll, Carter, Crittenden, Daviess, Elliott, Fleming, Franklin, Fulton, Gallatin, Grayson, Green, Hancock, Hardin, Henderson, Hickman, Hopkins, Kenton, Lawrence, Lewis, Livingston, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, Mason, McCracken, McLean, Menifee, Morgan, Muhlenberg, Nicholas, Ohio, Oldham, Owen, Pendleton, Spencer, Trigg, Union, Washington, and Webster Counties.  The cities are: Bardwell, Benton, Brandenburg, Cadiz, Calvert City, Carlisle, Carrollton, Hardin, Hawesville, Greensburg, Frenchburg, Lewisport, Maysville, West Liberty, Hartford, Wickliffe, and West Point.

Today Gov. Beshear is traveling across Western Kentucky to see the storm damage in person.  His trip includes stops in Paducah, Murray, Smithland and Henderson. 


Follow Governor Beshear on Twitter @Govstevebeshear, read the Governor’s personal notes on his blog at, and view the Governor’s weekly YouTube commentary at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: