The Front Blog

Conversations from the Four Rivers Region

Archive for January 21st, 2012

The Weekend Energy Preview 1-21

leave a comment »


Here’s what’s in the mix this week. It’s so mental, it defeated Watson the super computer in the final round of Jeopardy – the answer: What is the loudest show on public radio?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WFR3lOm_xhE

Highlights

RackNRuin- Dazed & Confused feat. Janai & Illaman (SKism’s Baroque Out Remix) –  I mean look at the title, it’s got to be good, right? Baroque Out? Awesome. This song lives up to its genre counterpart, beginning with a build into a carnival-like beat with vocals by Janai, then winding up into a tight dubstep beat with layers of Illaman rapping, then it loosens up with a quick tribal drum rhythm. Dare I say this song has it all? I made  a bold decision, too, and made it the show’s opener. Yikes!

Scarlett & The Pixels – Sea of LCD, Sparks – See this week’s “Discovery” below.

Skream – Anticipate (Netsky Remix) – This’ll warm your heart on a chilly winter weekend… Apparently Skream produced this song in anticipation of his son, on the way. It’s an uplifting track: “I can’t wait to meet you, And I know, I’ll have to learn how to teach you, I need to let the fool in me go, I’m gonna work like crazy, Give you everything you need, Build the world that you will see.” Even though the video has a robot dancing around, you have to admit, the lyrics are really, really sweet. Have I gone soft? No way :) The Netsky Remix speeds up the song a bit and gives it a nice drum and bass wash. The lyrics are in-tact, though, and I think the remix just makes it all much stronger. But the original version is great, too. I think congrats are in order for the new father. Oh, and here’s the official video, truly a great gift his son will grow to appreciate.

David Heartbreak – Elmo (Valentino Khan Remix) – I’m a Fresh Air fan, and as a young kid I loved Sesame Street (still do, whatevs), So when I heard Kevin Clash interviewed on Fresh Air, I’ll admit I did not get much accomplished in those 20 minutes. When I came across Elmo by David Heartbreak, I thought, okay this will be interesting. Yeah, it is. The original mix has a surreal moombahton drum-machine vibe with some vocal sampling from Elmo and friends. A couple weeks ago, I played a dope track by Valentino Khan called Kingstone, and saw he did a remix of this song, too. So that’s the one I put in the mix. It’s just insanely well produced moombahton, with more kick than the original and a couple solid drops, with the cute “Elmo!” popping in here and there.


Discovery

Scarlett & The Pixels

Almost exactly one year ago, I stumbled upon a remix of Sequin Burn by Scarlett Etienne and was blown by her lovely, syrupy voice. Her latest grouping, Scarlett & The Pixels is irresistible neo-techno-pop at its finest. Slowed down, pulsing rhythms with hooks that’ll ensnare your head all week. Sea of LCD is a mesmerizing glam anthem and Sparks is an absolute electric rockabilly swagger shoegazing theme song for a wintry week. I think Scarlett is one of the most exciting artists this year and her music just keeps getting better. Her Sea of LCD / Sparks EP is most definitely worth picking up – the remixes are great, too. Be sure to check out her music as Scarlett Etienne – especially the dark chugging bass of Figurine, The Flex, and Sequin Burn.  Also check out her Facebook page.

Almost Made It

Mord Fustang

We Are Now Connected is his huge hit right now, one of the biggest tracks in the genre at the moment, but for some reason I can’t seem to find a place for in the last few mixes. Right now it’s sitting in my shortlist pile and I hope to play it soon. This Estonian DJ came out of like nowhere last year with huge bombs like Magic Trooper, A New World, Lick the Rainbow, Super Meat Freeze, Milky Way… He’s certainly made a hame for nimself. Maybe next week he’ll be on Eeekend Wnergy. Check out his interesting Tumblr page.

Playing We Are Now Connected live:


Second Hour Rewind

The second hour rewind is the previous week’s first hour. In this mix, hear Afrojack, Panda Da Panda, Skrillex, Jupiter, Mustard Pimp, The Weeknd, Fischerspooner, Sidney Samson, and more! I’ve had a love affair with Fischerspooner’s music ever since their single Emerge released with their album #1 back in 2001. I saw the pairing of Infidels of the World Unite and Gooseflesh Remix and thought instant gold. Fischerspooner is one of those groups that’s already excellent without any revision, but Casey Spooner’s great vocals are so workable that some artists proved that The Best Revenge could be even better with some revision, see Alex Gopher, autoKratz, and Designer Drugs. Also, the DIM remix of Supply & Demand. Another one of Gooseflesh’s songs is in the mix tonight, in the first hour, hear Drift.

A Little Extra

This guy does some really great moombah live mixing:


“Crank up your stereo, bust out the strobe light and kick up the bass.”

Weekend Energy has been blowing out car stereo systems, upsetting the neighbors and enhancing the night life of western Kentucky every weekend since July 2007 on WKMS. Host Matt “McG” Markgraf pours through hundreds of songs each week to create “the loudest show on public radio” featuring the best techno, dance and electronica from around the world. Weekend Energy airs Saturdays on 91.3 WKMS from 11 p.m. to 1 a.m. Stream it live on wkms.org Saturday nights.

Hear the show streaming online or else.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers